Updated 25 October 2026 · By the Upcertain team
Four pricing models
| Model | Examples | Watch for |
|---|---|---|
| Tiers by number of monitors | UptimeRobot, StatusCake, Pulsetic, Hyperping | Seat limits and which tier unlocks 30-second checks |
| Per monitor plus per user | Cronitor ($2 per monitor, $5 per user a month on Business) | Costs grow with both monitors and people |
| Per site | Oh Dear (from €15 a month for 2 sites) | A site with many endpoints counts once |
| Per responder or add-on | Better Stack (responder licence $34 a month; status page add-ons) | Password protection and white labelling priced per page |
Entry options and 30-second checks
| Tool | Entry option | Where 30-second checks start |
|---|---|---|
| UptimeRobot | Free: 50 monitors, 5 min | Team: $35 a month billed annually |
| StatusCake | Free: 10 monitors, 5 min | Business: $66.66 a month billed annually |
| Hyperping | Free: 20 monitors, 5 min | Not stated on its pricing page; paid plans from $24 a month billed annually |
| Pulsetic | Free: 10 monitors, 5 min | Team: $19 a month (discounted from $39 when read) |
| Cronitor | Hacker: 5 monitors, 5 min | Business: $2 a month per monitor |
| OpenStatus | Free: 1 monitor, 10 min | Not stated on its pricing page; paid plans from $30 a month |
Prices change. Each comparison page links its source and the date it was read; check the vendor's page before buying.
What adds up
- Seats. Several tools include 3 to 10 seats and charge per extra user.
- Status page extras. Password protection, removing branding, extra pages and subscribers are add-ons on some tools.
- SMS and phone alerts. Usually credits or per-message fees.
- Faster intervals. Often the reason to move up a tier.
Free plans and their limits
Several tools have a no-cost tier, usually with 5- or 10-minute checks, a single seat or a basic status page. That suits side projects. For a business site, the 5-minute interval is the limit to watch: it misses most short outages. See check intervals.
Annual or monthly billing
Most tools discount annual billing, often by about two months' worth. The tables above show the price each vendor leads with; where it is the annual rate, the row says so. Compare like with like before deciding.
How to compare for your own case
- Count your monitors, including APIs, ports and scheduled jobs.
- Decide the interval each needs.
- Count who needs a login and who only needs alerts.
- List status page needs: custom domain, password, subscribers.
- Price each tool with those numbers, not with its headline price.
Where Upcertain fits
Upcertain is in early access: billing is not enabled and plans are assigned from the account. Team includes 100 monitors at 30-second checks, unlimited members, unlimited status pages with custom domains and password protection, and MCP. See pricing and the comparison pages.
Questions
Is the cheapest plan the best value?
Sources
- UptimeRobot pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- StatusCake pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- Hyperping pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- Pulsetic pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- Cronitor pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- OpenStatus pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- Oh Dear pricing (read 25 October 2026)
- Better Stack pricing (read 25 October 2026)